August 30, 2022   2 MIN READ

First 53

Eagles Annouce 53-Man Roster


The Eagles on Tuesday waived several players as all NFL teams were required to have their rosters down to 53.

Earlier in the day, they acquired safety/hybrid defensive back Chauncey Gardner-Johnson in a trade with the Saints and released veteran safety Anthony Harris.

Howie Roseman

Howie Roseman made several moves to get the Eagles’ roster to 53.

Also waived or waived/injured were wide receivers Deon Cain, John Hightower, Britain Covey, Devon Allen and Gred Ward (injured reserve), running back Kennedy Brooks, safety Andre Chachere, offensive guard Jack Anderson, defensive tackles Marvin Wilson, Renell Wren, and Kobe Smith (waived injured), offensive tackle Le’Raven Clark, offensive guard Kayode Awosika, cornerbacks Mac McCain, Tay Gowan, Kary Vincent, Josh Blackwell and Mario Goodrich, running back Jason Huntley,  defensive end Matt Leo, linebackers Christian Elliss and Jacoby Stevens, tight end Richard Rodgers, quarterbacks Carson Strong and Reid Sinnett, tight end Noah Togiai, and center Cameron Tom.

But the initial 53 might not be the same 53 the Eagles have Wednesday, when they start practice, or by the Sept. 11 season opener in Detroit against the Lions.

Any trades or waiver claims will change the roster going forward.

Here’s a look at the initial 53: (Note: This is not a depth chart)

Quarterback (2)
Jalen Hurts, Gardner Minshew

Running Back (3)
Miles Sanders, Boston Scott, Kenneth Gainwell

Wide Receivers (5)
A.J. Brown, DeVonta Smith, Quez Watkins, Zach Pascal, Jalen Reagor

Tight Ends (3)
Dallas Goedert, Jack Stoll, Grant Calcaterra

Offensive Linemen (10)
Jordan Mailata, Landon Dickerson, Jason Kelce, Isaac Seumalo, Lane Johnson, Andre Dillard, Cam Jurgens, Jack Driscoll, Sua Opeta, Josh Sills

Defensive Lineman (9)
Fletcher Cox, Javon Hargrave, Jordan Davis, Milton Williams, Brandon Graham, Josh Sweat, Derek Barnett, Tarron Jackson, Marlon Tuipulotu

Strong-side Linebackers (3)
Haason Reddick, Patrick Johnson, Kyron Johnson

Inside Linebackers (5)
T.J. Edwards, Kyzir White, Nakobe Dean, Davion Taylor, Shaun Bradley

Cornerbacks (5)
Darius Slay, James Bradberry, Avonte Maddox, Zech McPhearson, Josh Jobe

Safeties (5)
Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, Marcus Epps, Josiah Scott, K’Von Wallace, Reed Blankenship

Special Teams (3)
K-Jake Elliott, P-Arryn Siposs, LS-Rick Lovato

About The Author

Comments are closed here.